what is kundalini yoga

Awakening through Kundalini Yoga

One of the most powerful forms of yoga is Kundalini Yoga. As one of the oldest Yoga styles, it is powerful enough that it was dubbed the mother of all yoga’s. It was first mentioned in the Upanishads, an ancient Sanskrit text, that was written between 1000 and 500 B.C. Yoga of this type awakens the Muladhara Chakra, located at the base of our spine. It is believed to be associated with the divine feminine.

Kundalini takes its name from a Sanskrit word which means coiled snake. In Kundalini Sadhana (practice) it is said that the energy lying dormant at the base of the spine, coiled up and tense, becomes uncoiled and rises up the spine through the body to become in alignment with the body’s chakras. The coiled energy resembles a serpent that has three and a half coils, resting at the bottom of the spine. The three coils in Kundalini Yoga are known as the three Gunas which are the Sattva, Rajas, Tamas. The VIkritis represent the half coil.

Kundalini Yoga is also known as the symbol of equality and power for both genders. The masculine power is known to be Siva (or Shiva) and Sakti (or Shakti) for the females. They become the elemental source of power and energy when they are united. We of course all carry, as human beings, elements of both within us, it is just that one or the other may be dominating. The union of Siva and Sakti occurs in the brain which gives us the sense of feeling and affection, energy and love. This means Kundalini Yoga is good to eliminate the feeling of sorrow, depression, anger and jealousy.

See also  what is aromatherapy | aromatherapy benefits

Kundalini Yoga gives rewards to Yogis who maintain unity, awareness and spiritual transformation. Some say that the Kundalini produces a hissing sound when it is awakened, like the sound of a serpent as it goes from the Muladhara Chakra to the Brahma Nadi (the channels through which energy and spiritual knowledge flows) and on to the Sahasrara Chakra (Crown chakra.)

In the year 1969, Yogi Bhajan introduced Kundalini Yoga and throughout the 70’s it spread through the Western world. It includes the practices of the common Mantra, meditation, chanting, breathing and the classic poses. This type of yoga actually focuses more on chanting and breathing. It does not really concentrate on the Kundalini Yoga Poses alone.

If you are curious about Kundalini Yoga, it is good to first understand the pathway it takes. One thing you need to understand is the connection of this yogic practice with the Nervous System and the Spinal Cord. These two are the main focus of Kundalini Yoga as it targets your Spinal Cord and the Nervous System.

The Nervous System as we all know is an important control centre of our body. It is responsible for the imaginations, thoughts, intelligence and memory that we have. The Nervous System is composed of the brain, the nerves and most especially the Spinal Cord which gives us posture and stand. The Spinal Cord is made up of very delicate nerves and tissues, which is why we need to take care of it. Kundalini Yoga is said to be one of the most appropriate practices for this. The overall purpose is to promote spiritual enlightenment.

See also  Exercise for Your Whole Body: Sun Salutation

Kundalini yoga can be practised at home or through online channels, but there is nothing quite like being in the presence of a practised yogi.

There are several science-backed and anecdotal benefits of Kundalini yoga – let’s look at them below:

  • Stress and anxiety relief
  • Improves cognitive function
  • Boosts self-perception
  • Spiritual enlightenment
  • Calms the nervous system and promotes wellbeing
  • Helps to awaken love and feelings
  • Helps to cope with rejection, anger, jealousy and self esteem.

So why not try this special form of yoga for yourself, plug back into your spiritual side, and get the kundalini rising to boost your health and happiness.